Skip to content

The Blessing

July 26, 2010

I have recently been obsessed with the story of Jacob and Esau and the blessing passed down from their father Isaac. There are many aspects of this story that confuse me, and I am still attempting to learn. For example, I am still confused as to why each parent had an obvious “favorite child.” I guess more bothered than confused. But I know there is probably more to that than I truly understand. There is one part of this story that draws me to it. That is “the blessing.”

I have been mesmerized by this blessing and why the blessing was so significant. For several weeks I have studied Jewish culture to figure out the correlation between the Jewish blessing and our culture today. I had not had any luck making the connection, so I emailed one of my former OT professors and asked his opinion. He is one of the most intelligent men I have ever met. I asked him if he could help me to understand the culture and the significance of the blessing, and how that would correlate to our culture today. Copied below was his response:

“In Hebrew culture, spoken words were understood to have the same impact as physical actions. So a blessing given to a son or daughter had the effect of the surety of its being carried out. I hope that makes sense. In our language, a blessing insured a “done deal” for the children. What the father spoke would occur. So it doesn’t correlate precisely in our culture. However, the bond between parent and child can only be strengthened by a blessing handed down from generation to generation.” – Dr. Francis Kimmitt

This got me thinking even more. What can I do for my children, or what “blessing” can I give them, that they can hand down from generation to generation? As I thought about this question I was reminded of Deuteronomy 4. In this passage Moses is pleading with Israel to obey the Lord. The verse that really stuck out to me was vs. 9

“But watch out! Be careful never to forget what you yourself have seen. Do not let these memories escape from your mind as long as you live! And be sure to pass them on to your children and grandchildren.”

I realized, that’s it! That is what I can leave with my children, that they can pass for generations to come. You see Moses was telling the Israelites to never forget the things they have learned, good and bad! Because these lessons can be taught to their children, without their children having to face the same problems.

So essentially I can leave with my girls all the lessons I have learned from the Lord, so that they will not have to experience the same pains I have experienced! And these stories that I share with my girls will not only help their Christian journey, but it will bond our relationship closer.

All that to be said, I want to share the things that God is/has/and will teach me with my children. How can I do this? Through family worship times and seizing opportunities to share “God sightings” with my girls.

Comment below of any other ways that we can seize moments to share with our children things God has taught us.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe McBee permalink
    July 27, 2010 11:37 am

    Brian,

    I find that my sons (all three are teenagers) are much farther along in their journey with Christ than I was at their age. One of the things I try to do is to encourage that growth in them. I try to be a “sounding board” for their ideas about Scripture and theology and ministry. I encourage them as they make new discoveries and help guide and correct them where they may be in error.

    I also, by God’s grace, walk out the reality of the Gospel in my own life. They see me reading the Scriptures and they hear me talk about sharing Christ with others, and they see my wife and I praying together and discussing what we are learning in the Word. They also see me come to them sometimes I repent when I have overreacted or responded to them in a way that is not godly.

    Good post.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Blessing « Brian Smith's Head -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

