Skip to content

Warning Labels

September 27, 2010

Do you read and follow warning labels? I must admit the only time that I really look at warning labels are after I have done something that is probably destructive. I then flip to the back and read to see if I need to go to the hospital, etc.

Over the past few weeks, I have been studying the book of Ezekiel and, I must admit, it has been difficult to comprehend all of the visions and images. A few nights ago I read Ezekiel 3. I must admit I sort of brushed over a passage that God has continued to bring up to me all week. God is telling Ezekiel that he is to be warn the people of Israel about the wicked acts they are doing. The verses that stuck out to me were Ezekiel 3:18-19. God was warning the Israelites and He charged Ezekiel with the task of warning them about the coming wrath. The worst part of this wrath is God’s presence physically leaving the nation.

At first I read this passage and I thought, “that’s a neat story! I’m glad that Ezekiel did as he was asked!” Then I realized that Christ has asked the New Testament church to do the same thing today! We are to warn those who do not know about the oncoming wrath of God.  Jesus says in Matthew 28:19-20, that we are to warn others by sharing His great love with them. And I have to admit, its tough to do what I am called to!  I will share Christ’s love when it is convenient for me or when I am speaking to a group of teenagers, but on a daily basis I am not looking  to warn people of this awful separation from God.

My prayer is that I will be as concerned about those around me that don’t know Christ as I am of my own daily schedule. I will stop allowing my agenda to get in the way of God’s plan for that day of my life.

1. What message do you think God has for the people where you live? What is your role: Today tell everyone, or only those who come to you?

2. What would help them take you more seriously?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

