Skip to content

Slot Machine Jesus

November 29, 2010

Have you ever noticed how we as Christians treat Jesus like a slot machine? We don’t mind putting all that we have into Him as long as we know that we get a return on our investment, much like the stock market!

I was reminded of this mentality this morning as I drove to work. I was listening to the Mike and Mike Show on ESPN. They were talking about Stevie Johnson, the Buffalo Bills wide receiver who dropped a game winning pass yesterday. He was interviewed after the game and shared how upset he was with himself. Later that evening he tweeted the following:

I PRAISE YOU 24/7!!!!!! AND THIS HOW YOU DO ME!!!!! YOU EXPECT ME TO LEARN FROM THIS??? HOW???!!! ILL NEVER FORGET THIS!! EVER!!! THX THO…  – http://twitter.com/#!/StevieJohnson13/status/9006757670031360

Now please understand, I don’t know anything about Mr. Johnson nor his spiritual condition. But his tweet got me thinking. I began to search for verses in the Bible that spoke of praising God and  found there were over 35o Scriptures on this subject. The interesting thing is many times it was after God or Christ had “proven themselves.”

For example, Jesus healed the blind man and everyone praised Him. The question I ask myself  is do I  praise  God because of who He is or because of what He has done for me? I mean there are many things in my life that I can praise Christ for that He has done for me, but I think our walk is to be so much more than that! We are to praise him 24/7 PERIOD! Because He is GOD and no other reason!

My challenge is to praise God for the bad things in my life, because I know He is in charge of those too!

What is God doing in your life right now that seems bad and you need to praise Him for?

”I will praise the Lord at all times, I will constantly speak His praises.”   Psalm 34:1

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

