Skip to content

Worship Vs. Entertainment

December 14, 2010
tags:

This morning I was continuing my journey through Ezekiel, when honestly I got pretty excited. I began reading chapter 33 and for the first time in the book God gave some hope to the Israelites. At the end of the chapter the prophet wrote a verse that stuck with me.

Ezekiel 33:31-32
So my people come pretending to be sincere and sit before you. They listen to your words, but they have no intention of doing what you say. Their mouths are full of lustful words, and their hearts seek only after money. You are very entertaining to them, like someone who sings love songs with a beautiful voice or plays fine music on an instrument. They hear what you say, but they don’t act on it!

In this passage God is irritated that Ezekiel seems to only be entertainment to the people. Almost like they would come to watch and listen what he said solely for the laughs and then would go about doing what they were doing before.

I realized as I read this, the same epidemic is in our churches today. Many people see church as entertainment. They enjoy the music, (if they don’t they find a church where the music will entertain them!) they enjoy spending time with the people and enjoy all of the activities or programs of the church, but they don’t take the message of the Lord to heart. They don’t seek to serve and they get angry when yet are challenged by the message!

As we enter Christmas week, my challenge is to allow God to speak to me and for me to listen to and apply the message He has for me.

God help me to not reduce church services down to a form of entertainment. Help my worship to truly impact my life.

3 steps we can take to ensure this:

1. Listen to God’s Word
2. Obey what He says
3. Apply His Word and put it in practice in our lives!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 6:14 pm

    It almost seems to be more of a refutation on insincerity than entertainment.
    Thanks for sharing, it’s rare to see someone share from Ezekiel!

    • December 15, 2010 10:22 pm

      I agree with you Pat, but it made me wonder if someone is insincere in their worship then why are they at church, or worshiping in the first place. That made me consider the reason for being there is to be entertained. If people are not there to truly worship God then they must be there to be entertained. I’m sure there are other reasons such as guilt, attendance = salvation, etc. What are your thoughts?
      Thanks for your comments

      • December 16, 2010 9:27 am

        I guess the alternative is a slippery slope that I do not want to ride — if we worry too much about whether someone will be entertained, is the goal then to remove any excitement at all? “Let’s make worship as least entertaining as possible…. then they’ll stop being entertained!”
        I heard one of the guys from the tech team at Mars Hill share the other day something to the equivalent, “We believe Jesus IS relevant… we don’t create videos or elements from the world to try and make Him relevant, because we believe He is already there. So, since He is relevant, we just get to do things that we enjoy and others do too.”
        The end result is similar, but getting there is different. Why not worship God with your talents and gifts?
        A guy in our church is a producer and his wife is the director of plays/musicals. They do a big show on Christmas. It’s entertaining. It’s Christ-honoring. It’s worshipful. I don’t see them as separate. What I do see is the need to ensure that “I” am the one who is not false, fake, or insincere.

        Not sure if that makes sense or not…

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Worship Vs. Entertainment « Brian Smith's Head -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

