Skip to content

A Journey to Uncertainty Part 1

January 9, 2011

I have decided to keep an online journal (blog) over the next few months during what I am calling my “Journey to Uncertainty.”  Many of you know this, but to those who do not, I am no longer at my former place of ministry. In this blog I will not get into the specifics of that, nor will I share all that happened, I want this to be more what God is teaching me now, while I seek Him and His will.

It has been a week and half since I came home and told Danielle that our current ministry was over. Over the past week and a half I have experienced just about every emotion known to man. I have been hurt, angry, frustrated, happy, relieved, worried, scared and everything else.

I even came to a place in the last week and a half where I decided I was tired of it all and was done with ministry all together. God has really been dealing with me in this area. He has reminded me almost daily that He is the one who called me to ministry and I can’t allow my situations or emotions to waver from what I am called.

Today I visited a new church (first time I have done that as a “normal member” in a long time) and the pastor was speaking from Jeremiah. Specifically Jeremiah 1:1-8. The one verse that stuck out to me, and that God really dealt with me on was Jeremiah 1:5

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
before you were born I set you apart;
I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

For the most part I had always thought of this verse to support God’s love for us, or supporting Pro-Life. But, today God taught me something totally different. God appointed me to preach the Gospel before I was even born. This was not an occupation that I have “chosen.” I was appointed by the Lord God Almighty and I cannot leave that appointment. I have decided to put together a “committee” of sorts, to hold me accountable and to ensure that I not get comfortable or sedentary out of ministry.

This has been a great reminder to me. I am not sure what the future holds for me, but I know that as I journey down this road of uncertainty, I am walking along side  God, the one who called me and is walking with me.

What is God showing you that you have been called to do before you were in your mothers womb?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Robyn permalink
    January 9, 2011 2:48 pm

    Remember that “He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion…” Phil.1:6

    We are praying for you, Danielle, & your girls.

    • January 9, 2011 3:08 pm

      Great word Robyn! We so often forget that He is with us in the difficult times.

  2. Carolyn Hornback permalink
    January 9, 2011 7:25 pm

    Good Luck, Brian in this new journey!

  3. Sonja permalink
    January 9, 2011 8:22 pm

    So grateful to read those words! You don’t understand how much you and ur family mean to me. Keep taking the next step. God will handle the rest:)

    • January 10, 2011 4:02 pm

      Thanks Sonja! I have decided the next church though I am taking you with me as one of my leaders! I don’t think I will ever find another leader quite like you!

  4. January 10, 2011 8:30 am

    So much to be praying for. We are lifting your family up in prayer during this time of uncertainty. Sometimes, the uncertain is what makes us stronger and more foundational in CHRIST! Let that bring some hope today! These journeys in life are hard yet necessary. Sucks, huh? 🙂 Miss you guys!

    • January 10, 2011 4:05 pm

      Thanks Jaime! I am impressed you used the word “foundational”! That Ga. College education is really paying off! Anyway thanks so much for the prayers! We miss you guys too! Now we are close enough to come see you guys this summer! You gotta get us in Disney World next time! 🙂

  5. Joe McBee permalink
    January 10, 2011 12:30 pm

    Brian,

    I really, TOTALLY understand this struggle. Speaking from the view point of someone who left ministry over a decade ago under similar circumstances, I can tell you that it is easy, very easy to lose sight of your calling.

    I now spend nearly every single day wondering if I am called or not and wondering what to do about it. It is the primary struggle of my prayer life as well and it rips me apart inside.

    Keep your eye on Him and what He has called you to do.

    • January 10, 2011 4:07 pm

      Thanks Joe! That means a ton to read. The more guys that I know who were in ministry and got out I see typically struggle with the fact that they are not in anymore.

  6. youthpastoradam permalink
    January 10, 2011 9:19 pm

    I’m praying for you during this time of transition. I know that it can be painful, but I also know that God is going to grow you during this time.

    • January 11, 2011 6:36 pm

      Thanks man! That is our prayer! That we not miss what God is teaching us in this time!

Leave a Reply

