Skip to content

A Journey to Uncertainty Part 2

January 16, 2011

God has really been teaching me a lot this week. Today I learned that I must come to a place where I can rest in Him (and my security is in him alone), not in my salary, position, ministry, or anything else. I think God is calling me to come to a place of comfort in Him alone and nothing else. That is my prayer for this chapter in my life! (And every chapter that follows!)

One thing that has been challenging for me is finding a church to visit. I have honestly never had to find a church before. When I was a child and teen I went where my parents told me to go. As I entered college I went where everyone else was going, and when I graduated college (and even during college) I began ministry and went whereever I was called to minister.

I will say I have never wanted to be invited to church so much in my entire life. Please understand I am not writing this to ask everyone to invite me to their church, but I am beginning to see how unchurched individuals may feel. How are they supposed to know where to go and know about Christ if we as Christians (and active church members) never invite them! If nothing else I have a new passion to invite everyone I see to church…unfortunately as of now I don’t have a church to invite them to! 🙂

I have had several minister friends invite me to come to their churches and get involved, but part of me wants to attend in obscurity where I can plug into a church that needs help in student ministry, or another ministry, and serve for as long as God calls me to. I picture myself working with a small church that has no student pastor where I can just love on students and lead them to have a passionate relationship with Jesus Christ. But I want to stay open to where God is leading me and my family during this time of growth. Please continue to pray for us as we seek Him, and as I strive to have security in Christ and not in myself.

My question for you!

Are you inviting your neighbors, coworkers, friends, family to church? I promise there are people out there who are dying for you to invite them!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lana permalink
    January 16, 2011 8:40 pm

    Thank you for reminding me and others that might read this blog that there are people out there wanting to be invited to church. I pray that I become more intentional about this! Looking for a church home is not really fun at all – been there and didn’t enjoy it! You and your family are in my prayers!

  2. January 17, 2011 8:28 am

    What a challenge! Sometimes we need perspective. And God takes to us places of uncertainty to achieve that…not so fun…but worth it to experience healing and growth. Unfortunately, I speak from experiences I wish I didn’t have to find myself in. I am knowing this all too well in my life right now. Keep up the worth work friend!

  3. Byron Spence permalink
    January 17, 2011 1:36 pm

    It is interesting that you write this right now. I have some friends who have been talking to a pastor at one of the fastest growing churches in the south and maybe in the nations. He says that one of the major keys to their growth is that they continuously preach to invite people to church. This seems like such a no duh idea but so many completely forget about it. I feel like inviting people and tithing are things that should be common place but many Christians have never been taught much about either of these. I hope you are able to enjoy all the ups and downs of this journey you and your family are on. If you are ever around Barrow county I would love to have go to church with us……Just sayin!!!

Leave a Reply

