Skip to content

A Journey to Uncertainty Part 3

April 23, 2011

Well it has been a few months since I last blogged. Primarily because with my job I don’t really have time to sit down and get everything out of my head. But I have learned so much over the last few months since leaving Kentucky and taking a job as a pest control technician.

The biggest thing God has shown me is that I have a serious issue with pride! And until I can get over my pride I will not model Christ. Christ was the ultimate servant. I walk into a persons house to spray for roaches and feel like I have to give them an explanation of what I am doing and explain that I have a Masters degree and over 11 years professional experience.

God is teaching me that my value is not in what I do or even who I am…my value is in the fact that I am His!! I recently spoke at a church and preached on what God is teaching me. Attached is my outline of my sermon: (I excluded my introduction because it was an excerpt from Charles Swindoll and was rather lengthy.)

Feel free to read it and give me your thoughts on pride, the outline, whatever!

  • What is pride? Pride means to act arrogantly; a high opinion of one’s worth, self conceit.
  • For example, when one cheats what he is saying is I can’t get caught. This is o.k., it serves my need. When a person lies what he/she is saying is I don’t want to tell the truth because I am afraid that I may look bad. When a person commits adultery what they are doing is acting out of the mentality that they want what somebody else has and won’t stop until they have it. Pride is very competitive by nature. Competitive in the sense that you’ll stop at nothing to make sure you are always on the winning side because you don’t want to look inferior. Or you’ll stop at nothing to make sure you are seen as the most important or the prettiest in the room.

    Illustration: A young woman went to her pastor and said, “Pastor, I have a sin, and I want your help. I come to church on Sunday and can’t help thinking I’m the prettiest girl in the congregation. I know I ought not think that, but I can’t help it. I want you to help me with it.” The pastor replied, “Mary, don’t worry about it. In your case it’s not a sin. It’s just a horrible mistake.”

  • Let’s look at what the Bible says about pride
    • Matthew 18:3-4

3 Then he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you turn from your sins and become like little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven. 4 So anyone who becomes as humble as this little child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.

  • Proverbs 11:2

Pride leads to disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.

  • Proverbs 8:13

All who fear the Lord will hate evil. Therefore, I hate pride and arrogance, corruption and perverse speech.

The Scriptures make it clear that God wants us to be humble.  In Philippians 2 Paul addresses pride in detail.

Read Philippians 2

  1. Paul compares our lives to Christ

i.      Christ was humble

ii.      Because of this we should be humble

  1. If anyone could be proud or arrogant it is Christ

i.      He created everything

  1. But as an example he was humble
  2. Not only did Jesus die humbly, but he lived humbly.  He became human in every way we are human so that we can see he understands us and knows what it means to suffer (Hebrews 4:15)

“This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin.”

  1. James reminds us to humble ourselves before the Lord  (James 4:10)

“Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up in honor.”

If we do not choose to humble ourselves before the Lord, he will humble us Himself which is usually a much more painful process

  1. The only thing we should rightfully boast about is Jesus Christ

2 Cor. 10:17 17But, “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord

ii.      Do you struggle with arrogance?

  1. What are some areas of your life where you need some “humbling”?
    1. Your financial stability?
    2. Your success in life?
    3. Your home?
    4. Your education/occupation?
    5. Your craftsmanship?
    6. Your cooking abililtes?
    7. Even if you say you are the opposite and you don’t think highly of yourself at all that is still being self-centered b/c the focus is on you and not on Christ.  When you focus on the negative about yourself you are not focusing on Him.  Be secure in who Christ made you to be, yet be humble.

So how do we deal with pride in our lives?

1. Recognize it—this is the first step!

2. Repent of it

Remember do something about it before God does!

3. Make it a habit to boast in the Lord. (2 Cor. 10:17)

If we are bragging about the things of Christ then we will always be conscious that He is our reason to be proud.

4. Ready yourself to fight it every day!

Pali, this bull has killed me.” So said Jose Cubero, one of Spain’s most brilliant matadors, before he lost consciousness and died.

Only 21 years old, he had been enjoying a spectacular career. However, in this l958 bullfight, Jose made a tragic mistake. He thrust his sword a final time into a bleeding, delirious bull, which then collapsed. Considering the struggle finished, Jose turned to the crowd to acknowledge the applause. The bull, however, was not dead. It rose and lunged at the unsuspecting matador, its horn piercing his back and puncturing his heart.

Just when we think we’ve finished off pride, just when we turn to accept the congratulations of the crowd, pride stabs us in the back. We should never consider pride dead before we are.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 8:20 am

    Brian, brilliant thoughts. I thought the exact same things! Even now, I still find myself making sure everyone knows that when I was fired its because the church was messed up not because of anything I did. Pure pride. Thanks for the heart check!

  2. April 25, 2011 11:08 am

    Thanks man…Glad God is using it in more than just my own life. I never realized how big of an issue pride was until I began to look for it in my life. That is when I began to see it in every facet of my day!

Leave a Reply

