Skip to content

A Journey to Certainty

May 12, 2011

I have to begin by apologizing. For 5 months now I have been blogging about the journey that God has my family and myself on. I have been calling it “A Journey to Uncertainty.” I have realized this couldn’t be further than the truth! I know EXACTLY where this journey is taking me! Philippians 3:20 reminds me that my “citizenship is in heaven.” I may not know the next step on my journey, but I am certain of my destination.

So where am I now on this journey?

All I can say is WOW! God has truly taught me so much over the past 5 months. I honestly don’t want to ever go through this again, but I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything. The ride has had major ups and major downs, and I am positive that it will still have more ups and downs, but I have learned…no experienced that God is in this with us. Not only has He been with us in the midst of this storm, but He has guided the steps that have brought us to this place.

One Scripture that has really spoken to me over the past few weeks is 1 Peter 4:12-13:

 12 Dear friends, don’t be surprised at the fiery trials you are going through, as if something strange were happening to you. 13 Instead, be very glad—for these trials make you partners with Christ in his suffering, so that you will have the wonderful joy of seeing his glory when it is revealed to all the world.

Something I read in my quiet time this week was

“When troubles come, not if they come, the question to consider is, how will you respond? Will you take hold of the promises and the revelation of God’s character and make them a part of your life, or will you run and hide? Will you run to other people for comfort, or will you find a quiet corner in which to sulk and wait for the trial to pass? Will you argue and complain to God about what He is doing in your life? Or, as Joseph did, will you continue to show God’s character through the choices that you make?” – Tim Burns

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cat Fowler permalink
    May 12, 2011 8:40 pm

    I believe it is possible that part of God’s plan is to allow people have ‘down time’ in their ministry to find that ministry isn’t contained to a church or position or title, but it is a life style and the heart of the minister. As much as all the world’s a stage to an actor or there are teachable moments anyplace in a teacher’s world…people ‘s walks of faith shouldn’t stop at the double doors on Sunday morning shaking hands with the pastor. Your situation may be a down for you, but your reaching to another for comfort may be the exact thing that person needs to feel validated. Could be that feeling as if they have the experience to guide you or somehow having your trust and being in just the right place at the right time may make them have purpose where they have felt worthless for a while. Could it be that a job and work are two separate things? I certainly understand missing human interaction and teaching. Dealing with the grieving process of slowly having to die away from the me that was has not been easy at all. All the kings horses and men understand being unemployed incredibly well. Most people understand the fear of terminal illness. Somehow trying to put those two together while being ‘shut in’ unable to go to church DOES NOT allow for much out reach in some places. So, my company is kept in doctors’ offices. Long time ago I figured out that I was kept alive to be the comic relief for my doctors who have to deal with complaining sick people. With the power of a mama look and a sense of humor of 20 years in public education, I have set straight more than one grump who fussed at having to wait five minutes past appointment time by saying something like ‘you know, when my grandmother had her heart attack, he dropped everything and had to apologize to his regular patients later, but he saved her life’…offered the somewhat redfaced person a magazine and told him that his job next time somebody was being ugly in a waiting room was to pass on the ‘patient patient’ rule.

    I wish that I could walk now. People who are fussing about the silliest things in life like cold baked potatoes or the traffic crossing guards being too slow or stuff that just isn’t stress worthy…I wish they could roll a side walk or two on my wheels. I’m so thankful to have kids who without thinking open the door for people, offer to help with things around the house, appreciate each day as it comes, listen to the stories of their elders, respect a good education, and most importantly find something to laugh about even in the worst of situations.

    There are times for us to find quiet places and count to ten and look for those to find comfort in. God places those people in our lives and sets aside times for us to think and ponder and soul search. We are allowed to grieve and be angry and feel. Those beautiful emotions are gifts as much as joy and laughter.

    There are times when we should look around us and see what we need to do; however, the hardest lesson, one that often has to tumble on us in crisis, is that we may be the lesson for someone else. Gee, like teaching while being the student and learning while being the teacher. These life lessons are pretty amazing. Keep on going, not complaining, but analyzing and searching….cathe’

Leave a Reply

