Skip to content

Circumstantial Faith

July 11, 2011

Okay, I will admit it…I believe I just created a word. As much as I wanted to find an online definition to introduce this post for “circumstantial faith” it is just not there. But work with me for a second.

This past Sunday I was sitting in Sunday school and our teacher was teaching on the story of Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead. As she was reading the passage I was reading along. I read John 11:15 and something jumped out at me. It said,

“And for your sakes, I’m glad I wasn’t there, for now you will really believe. Come, let’s go see him.”

Jesus is talking to the disciples. He was telling them that He is glad He was not there before Lazarus died so the disciples would really believe in Him.

Understand, this was near the end of Jesus’ earthly ministry, so the disciples had spent a LOT of time with Christ. Watching Him heal, comfort, rebuke, and perform many miracles. After all of this, these same disciples still had to be convinced that Jesus was the Christ.

As I read this passage, I wondered how in the world could these disciples still question if Jesus was the Messiah.  Then I realized I still have the same problem today the disciples had 2000 years ago. Many times I fall  victim to a circumstantial faith as well.

So many times my faith is based on my circumstances. If things are going well and working out the way I see fit, my faith seems to be stronger. But when things begin to go south and I am not happy with the circumstance that I am in, I begin to rely on myself to “rescue” me from my situation.

Although I know God’s love never changes, I sometimes fall victim to thinking He has forgotten about me, or He is too busy with real problems to worry about my little problems.

What disciplines do you practice to protect yourself from this line of thought?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Clint permalink
    July 12, 2011 7:36 pm

    GREAT made me look at the verse and my faith also. Thanks Brian

  2. Connie permalink
    July 17, 2011 11:42 am

    Isn’t it interesting that Jesus was demonstrating a REAL resurrection to the disciples, preparing them for His own resurrection — and yet they still didn’t really “get it” when He himself was resurrected. I wonder how much I miss . . . of Him and His activity . . . when it’s so obvious to others.

    • July 17, 2011 12:42 pm

      Great word Connie! Thanks for the insights that inspired me to write this post. Your lesson is what got me thinking.

  3. August 6, 2011 8:33 pm

    Someone needs a new post…..

    • August 7, 2011 6:24 am

      I’ve had nothing to write on for a few weeks. Working on one in my head, but can’t write it until I open my next chapter of life.

Leave a Reply

