Skip to content

A Journey to Certainty Part 5

September 26, 2011

My parents had one rule when it came to getting in trouble at school. If I got in trouble at school, then I would get in trouble at home. That typically consisted of getting home and getting worn out by my Mom or Dad.

Those days were the only days that I would want to stay at school. I didn’t want to go home because I knew what awaited me. As I get older and have children of my own, one thing I have learned is that discipline really is difficult for me as a parent, but my life is better because of this discipline.

I have learned that God often disciplines me when I am listening. This past Sunday He absolutely wore me out during our worship time. As some of you may know, I lost my job just after Christmas of this past year. Over the next few months I began saving money, while I was getting some extra paychecks. I gained a lot of confidence in my savings account, and honestly looking back realize that I put my faith in my savings account.

Over the past several months, as I have watched that savings that I worked so hard to build up dwindle, I have began to panic over money. I have found myself even waking up at night worrying what would happen if we ran out of money. I was feeling sick constantly and rarely eating because of worry.

I continued worrying in the back of my mind as I went to church Sunday. God used EVERYTHING that I heard that morning to show me that I was not putting my faith in Him, but was putting my faith in my savings account (which is His also!)  I stood at my seat in the worship center feeling ashamed. I was ashamed that I had allowed myself to place Christ and His power in a box.

My pastor then stood up and preached on sin, and what sin was keeping us from God’s plan. I realized that my sin of distrust was keeping me from God’s plan.

What sin is keeping you from God’s plan? Are you truly placing your faith in Christ, no matter what that looks like?

“Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message,and the message is heard through the word of Christ.” – Romans 10:17

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 10:44 am

    Timely post, for all who are walking with God and growing in the faith. Continue to share your story of hope and faith. Love God Love People

Leave a Reply

