Skip to content

Lessons I learned in Pest Control

May 12, 2012

ImageI have been thinking on this for several months and have decided I am going to write a series on “Lessons I learned while doing pest control” (or while in the service industry.) I pray the Lord will speak to you through this the way he spoke to me while I was in this season.

1. Service professionals are normal people!

I will say for the most part people were very friendly to me. But every once in a while I would walk into a house and they would treat me as if I were below them. I really struggled for the first few months with my pride. I wanted to say, “oh yeah, I have a Masters degree.” The Lord really convicted me through this. I learned my job does not define who I am, Christ defines who I am. I am a child of His.

The thing that would bother me most is most of the times I was treated poorly the family had “signs” in their home that they were Christians. I sometimes wanted to say, if you are going to claim to be a believer then represent my Jesus better than this!

Personally, I now strive to be the best representative of Christ when anyone comes in my home.

Also I always offer them water or a drink. I would typically turn it down but there was nothing better on a hot day than to be offered a bottle of water.

What do you do to show service professionals you care?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. marcusjlewis permalink
    May 12, 2012 11:01 am

    Your job does not define you…you are a child of God. Amen my friend. Thanks for the reminder to love others, even in simple caring ways. May the Lord continue to renew our minds for His glory and the good of all around us!

  2. marcusjlewis permalink
    May 12, 2012 11:07 am

    Thanks for sharing! Love it! Would love to be able to see how Jesus treated and was treated by folks when He delivered a finished woodwork job. I can imagine many looked down on Him, some would later want Him dead, others would be forever changed by His sacrificial love. May the Lord keep teaching us Brian! Love, Marc

Leave a Reply

