Skip to content

Questions Not To Ask Someone With Cancer

June 6, 2012

I’m starting a new blog called “Questions to Not Ask Someone About Their Cancer”

I understand people are trying to be well meaning and don’t really know what to say. Today’s first example I have often used myself

Question #1
What Stage is it?
Or How early did you catch it?

We went to the Dr in the morning do I guess we caught it before lunch!

This question is a nice way of asking “are you gonna die soon?”

I really think the stage thing is overplayed. Again I know I’ve even asked that question and didn’t know what I was asking. I still don’t know what it means. We haven’t been told anything about stages. Been told everything else but no stages.

That is all for now!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Danny permalink
    June 6, 2012 6:24 pm

    I can relate, Brian. When I was first diagnosed with prostate cancer 7 years ago, one of the first questions someone asked me was “Do you think they caught it in time?” LIke you said, I think people mean well…just unsure about what to say, I guess. Like many, many others, Rebecca, Adam, and I are praying for all of you. We love y’all and are here if you need us. Danny

    • June 11, 2012 7:28 am

      Thanks Danny. I’m hoping I didn’t sound rude. I know I have personally asked those same questions. I just hear it in a whole new light now.

  2. Molly permalink
    June 6, 2012 6:29 pm

    I know Brian,people I think do mean well, but really, they need to think real hard before they ask Questions like this, put yourself in their shoes ! Love and prayers to your sweet family !!

Leave a Reply

