Skip to content

1st Surgery Tomorrow

June 15, 2012

What a fast and wild couple of weeks we have had! To think that just two weeks ago today Danielle went to the doctor for a mammogram that we were told not to worry about, because it was “just a benign cist!” It’s amazing the emotions and thought I have had over the past 2 weeks. From peace that passes all understanding, to fear that I have never experienced before! I remember a point a few days ago that I was almost begging God to allow this to all go away! It’s like a nightmare that we can’t wake up from. One thing the Lord continues to teach me through these past couple weeks is He is not a God of fear. In other words God does not use fear to steer his children.

2 Timothy 1:7 reminds me, “For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.”

This verse continues to come to mind anytime I allow satan to control my thoughts. I believe satan prowls and tries to find a weak spot where he can take my focus off of God. One thing I do not believe is satan placed this cancer in Danielle. Satan is not that powerful. God saw the cancer cells forming in Danielle’s body and could have easily stopped them from forming at any time he wanted. He didn’t! So that tells me that He wants us to walk through this to make His name great! Therefore, I should not fear because we are right where God wants us.

So I sit tonight on the eve of Danielle’s first surgery. Tomorrow morning she will have her port put in. I believe that will be difficult for both of us because of the finality of it. That will be the moment that I think I realize this is real! As I think of this journey I am again so amazed at Danielle and her strength. We have both said several times that it’s better this is happening to her than me because she is so much stronger!

I know difficult days are coming…but even more I know the Lord has been with us this far and He will not leave us now!

Things to pray for:

Pray Danielle’s surgery goes smoothly tomorrow.

Pray as she begins chemo next Friday.

Pray for minimal side effects from the chemo.

Continue to pray for our girls as they are still trying to completely understand what is going on.

 

More Praises!

The love and gifts of people has been amazing and humbling! I never knew we knew this many people!

People have come out of the woodwork who are former survivors of breast cancer. That has been so encouraging.

The prayers we have. Our map is full of people praying from all over the world! WE BELIEVE IN PRAYER!

We have food coming to us every other day for the next 4 months! That blows my mind!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. John Hornback permalink
    June 15, 2012 10:23 pm

    God bless Danielle and you tomorrow and the next day and the next day and the next day …

  2. Brittany permalink
    June 15, 2012 10:41 pm

    Setting my alarm to be praying in the AM… Love you guys the Mundok’s are standing with you all…

  3. June 16, 2012 2:50 am

    Thanks for the update!

  4. June 16, 2012 4:50 am

    Praying for all your prayer request , love ya’ll !

  5. Chris Parrott permalink
    June 16, 2012 8:06 am

    I just read your post and it brought tears to my eyes Brian. You and Danielle are a true inspiration to ALL who know Christ and to others who are still learning about Christ! I pray everyday for ya’ll and it seems that God puts you on my mind several times a day! I am blessed to know you both and pray with you as your journey continues. Love to you and your family!

    • June 16, 2012 9:54 am

      Thanks Chris. We are noting but vessels of Christ. I am not always as brave in real life as I am on social media. Just praying constantly that God will shine His light through me.

  6. Pat Peaden permalink
    June 16, 2012 4:47 pm

    Remember Danielle may be under a doctor’s care but you all are in the Master hands. Praying for your request today. and more to come. as you go through this jouuney but not alone.
    He sent his word and healed them. Psalm 107:20 KJV

  7. Jamie Robinson permalink
    June 21, 2012 8:24 pm

    Thank you for the update Brian – continuing to pray for Danielle and for you and your girls as you all embark on this journey together. Praying for God’s continued healing for Danielle’s body – we know that God has already taken care of everything in His timing for Danielle.

    • June 21, 2012 10:11 pm

      Thanks Jamie! Also thank you for being such an encouraging example of Gods power!

Leave a Reply

