Skip to content

The Next Phase

October 2, 2012

This is Danielle’s latest blog on our news we received yesterday. She continues to be my hero!

 

“I haven’t updated my blog in a while so I decided I should probably bring everyone up to speed on my treatment journey. Since my last blog, I have completed two more rounds of chemotherapy and have had pretty minimal side effects. For some reason I had a hard time with nausea after round five, but I was feeling much better after about a week. Our family was able to take a vacation to the beach which helped me to feel much better! I’m convinced that the beach makes everything better! We came right back to reality yesterday when I had two doctors appointments with the surgeons who will be performing my mastectomy and reconstruction surgery. They are two wonderful doctors and I feel very confident in their ability to take care of me. I was not quite prepared, however, to hear how soon my surgery will be taking place! When Dr. Timbert (my wonderful doctor who has walked every step of this journey with me) told me November 8th, I had to swallow hard. I’ve known surgery was coming but having an exact date on the calendar made it real. I’m terrified of surgery but excited to know that November 8th will be the date I will be officially cancer free!! My final round of chemotherapy will be October 8th. Although I’m scared about the upcoming surgery and radiation treatments, I’m so glad for this phase of treatment to be over. I keep reminding myself how terrified I was before I started chemo and how God has been so faithful to bring me through it. I know He’s not going to forget about me now and He will bring me through surgery and radiation as well. I’m humbled when people tell me how strong I am because I feel anything but strong. Any strength I have comes from God alone. I can say with the apostle Paul that I’m content with these hardships because I know that when I’m weak, I am made strong through the power of Christ at work in me (2 Corinthians 12:10). God’s power IS made perfect in my weakness! I’m honored that He is allowing me to walk this road so that others might see his glory at work as He heals me!

Ways you can pray with us:
– Pray I stay healthy and can stay on track to have my final chemo as scheduled. My girls are recovering from bad colds so pray they haven’t been sweet enough to share it with me!
– Pray that I will continue to have minimal side effects from chemo and finish strong
– For those of you that don’t know, I teach music at a small Christian school. We have a Christmas musical coming up in December and I’m a nervous wreck about pulling it off since I will be out of work most of the month of November. Pray that the students would be able to learn the music easily and quickly and that God will be glorified through the program.
-Pray for my anxiety about the upcoming surgery. I am constantly reminding myself to be anxious for nothing but to pray about everything!

Thank you so much for your continued prayers for me!!!”

 
 
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jody Wallace permalink
    October 2, 2012 10:44 am

    I love you, Dani-girl! And praying for you as you travel this road!

  2. October 2, 2012 11:01 am

    I had surgery back in March – nothing like what you’re facing, but nerve wracking, just the same. I found this verse and repeated it out loud as I went out under anesthesia: Deut. 31:8 ~ “The Lord Himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” I personalized it be saying “me” in place of every “you.” God also gave me the song “Bless the Lord (Oh My Soul)” just before my surgery which I sang over and over the days leading up to my surgery. Praying for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

