Skip to content

Breast Cancer Awareness Month

October 7, 2012

As I watched the Falcons today go to 5-0 for the first time in the history of the franchise I was constantly reminded of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I am very thankful people, organizations, and corporations who strive to make people aware of this disease. But a few observations I have made from my position as Danielle and I walk down this road.

I am very very thankful for breast cancer research!! Because of research the doctors have known how to specifically treat Danielle and her disease. But one thing I have learned is a lot of money goes to research and very little goes to help those fighting breast cancer. The cost of treatment is ridiculous. Every chemo treatment is roughly $6000. Some patients have to have numerous chemo treatments. I was shocked when I learned how much money went to research and how little goes to patients.

The Lord has truly truly blessed us as we have walked through this journey. I am amazed daily at his provision. Unfortunately many people are not blessed like we have been thus far. Danielle and I recently purchased a home. We were devastated when the neighbor told us the home was foreclosed on because the previous owner had breast cancer and lost the home because of financial hardships!

There was 1 grant that we were able to qualify for. Don’t get me wrong I am thankful for that grant but it didn’t put a dent in true expenses.

I have thought what I plan to do once we get beyond our treatment is to find someone walking through this and donate money to them specifically. I would encourage you to do the same.

PLEASE DON’T READ ME ASKING FOR HELP. I AM NOT AT ALL!!! Again, God is providing for us, but not for many. So be a blessing to someone. Find a stranger and be the voice of God to let them know they will be okay.

The second thing I have observed is there are so many other cancers that aren’t as glamorous and don’t get the same love as breast cancer. I am not sure why that is. Just an observation.

What do you think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pat Peaden permalink
    October 7, 2012 8:38 pm

    I agree with you Brain / I pray one day they will be a cure for all cancers. I have a sister that is battling cancer and I know the expence they are going through . WE are holding Danielle you and the family up in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

