Skip to content

Out of my Control

July 15, 2013

I often hear people say “God won’t give you anything you can’t handle.” This is terrible theology. If he never gave us anything we couldn’t handle on our own then we would never need Him or his strength and power.

In the last few years my family has walked through being fired, breast cancer, treatments (chemo, radiation, 4 surgeries), pancreatic cancer with surgery and a 7day hospital stay and complications.

All that to say I couldn’t handle any of this on my own. Does that mean God deserted me because He gave me more than I could handle?

Absolutely not. He showed me how to rely on Him more than ever. And showed more of His love and grace that I ever knew.

There is a song that plays on Christian radio daily that states this same promise. The only problem is the promise was not made by God.

My challenge is when we are faced with things that we can’t handle on our own, the best thing we can do is seek the Lord and then hold on and watch Him make you stronger in your faith, if you trust Him.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pat Peaden permalink
    July 15, 2013 10:24 am

    Amen

Leave a Reply

